One Button at a Time…

Tuesday Night Craft Experiment

Lace Ribbon Scarf December 14, 2010

Filed under: Completed Projects,Knitting — momentpunch @ 10:23 am
Tags: , , ,

It’s creation was over three years in the making.  The Lace Ribbon Scarf (or LRS) and I have been through so much together. We went to Ft. Myers, Florida together with my family. It was with me when I had a broken ankle and should’ve been knitting it, but opted to watch the Game Show network instead. It was with me during various overnights at a group home where I was called every bad name you can think of for 22 hours. The LRS and I have had good times and bad. I should’ve turned to it more often to ease the pain, but doing a set of 23 rows of that beast was a 45 minute ordeal and “I just don’t have the time!” or so I would often tell myself.

Now, three years later, here we are. It sits on my desk begging to be worn. I’m slightly embarrassed because I missed up on the finishing (of course), but its not that noticeable*. I’m not going to let a little mistake like that keep us from being together. I love you, LRS, despite my dropped ladders, not purled into yarn overs, and weird bind off.

It wasn’t just the fact that I chose a fairly tedious, yet slightly complex (read: easy to make mistakes) lace pattern for a scarf, but I chose an interesting yarn as well. I chose Artyarns Ultramarino 4, a gorgeous, but heavy,  fingering weight yarn. In retrospect, I should’ve picked a lighter lace weight yarn that would’ve been easier to block and would hang nicer. This one tends to curl in a little on itself. I already had the yarn laying around. If I were to make another one, I would pick a yarn that would better show all the detail – it’s lost amidst the purple and gold.

the intricate lace detail (apologies for the huge picture)

Still, I love the pattern. I love the way that it looks. And I hope I get to wear it soon.

*yes, it is.

 

Leave a Reply

