One Button at a Time…

Tuesday Night Craft Experiment

Eco-Friendly Yarns March 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — momentpunch @ 7:42 pm
Tags:

If you’re a yarn aficionado like myself,  you get ads popping up on the side of your facebook page promoting hand painted yarn and other hippy dippy eco-friendly fibers. I’m psyched to see these ads because I am fascinated by other “fibers” that yarn can be made from. No, I’m not talking about dog hair yarn. And yes, there is such a thing.

Once at Spark Craft, I found a sock yarn partly made of crab shells. It’s so soft. I still haven’t made anything with it, but I bought it because it is made of crabs. And I hate crabs. It would also be an amazing conversation piece, but someone would have to ask about my socks first. It’s a flawed plan. It was the best  yarn I found made of funny fibers…

….UNTIL NOW………..

………………….

……………………………………………

……………………………………

Ladies and Gentlemen, Milk Yarn.

While investigating the projects people have made with this yarn, I discovered that the same company, Kollage, also makes yarn from 100% corn and corn fibers.

So, Kollage, if you’re out there…I love the the teal blue and persimmon colors.

*Everytime I had to write “crab” I wrote “crap.” Yes, even that time.

 

Leave a Reply

