One Button at a Time…

Tuesday Night Craft Experiment

Wire Wrapping January 8, 2010

Filed under: Completed Projects,Jewelry — momentpunch @ 3:46 pm
Tags: , ,

Early in December I took a free wire wrapping class at Bead and Pearl in Newton Highlands. Bead and Pearl is an adorable little shop that is a total pain in the ass for me to get to. (Note: I consider anything that requires the mass pike to be a pain in the ass to get to).  The shop, while small, has an abundance of beads in every shape, size, and color. They have strands, tubes, clusters, etc. It’s on the pricier side, but I saw some beads there that, if I were in a better financial situation, I would say I could not live without. We’re in a recession, people!

The project that we were working on were wire wrapped earrings called the Rosebud Vine Earrings. To me, these are perfect earrings. Fancy, yet artsy and unique. They also look far more complicated than they actually are. I was worried about making the earrings look identical, but it was surprisingly easy. Actually, the whole project was surprisingly easy.

After a little guidance and being shown how to start the project, we were left to our own devices. It’s all about twisting and stringing beads. I chose to go with more of a tree theme while others emulated the vine option. Everyone’s earrings were gorgeous. I had to stop and restart a few times, but you don’t need to worry about the shape of the wire throughout this process since you can bend it into whatever shape you want and it will hold. It was a quick and addictive project.

(Can you tell this picture was hastily taken at 7:30am this morning? It’s huge for detail)

All said the beads, hoops, findings, and wire cost under $20 and came with a complimentary glass of red wine. Even with a slight buzz on, I think they came out pretty neat looking. Maybe a little sloppy, but I hope to try it again soon!

I was psyched when Erin found this class since this was an advanced jewelry making method I had yet to try. I also love the wire wrapped pieces that I have. Last Christmas, I received a wonderful wire wrapped Tree of Life Pendant  from a friend. The woman that runs the store it was purchased from is a fixture on craftster and recently made me a bird’s nest charm as well – which also looked intimidating to make. There are an abundance of them in craftster swaps and everyone wants one because they’re just so stunning and creative.

The Tree of Life is still a little too intense for me. Someday!

 

4 Responses to “Wire Wrapping”

  1. Keep working ,great job!

  2. Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…

  3. reb Says:

    Very cool. I think it’d be neat to try black wire, and pink beads. They’d look like Cherry Blossoms!!!

  4. You you could change the page subject Wire Wrapping One Button at a Time… to something more specific for your content you make. I loved the the writing however.


Leave a Reply

