One Button at a Time…

Tuesday Night Craft Experiment

I know, I know… December 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — momentpunch @ 11:00 am

When I started this blog a few months ago I made a promise to myself that I would not let the content lag. Well, here we are. Two weeks and no recent posts. I’m sorry. This doesn’t mean that I have not been crafting. I just haven’t been crafting anything new to show you.

I’ve recently been wrapped up in the world of craft swaps again. The swap that I chose to participate in is  one where I can post what I want and someone picks something from that list to make for me. I get to pick from someones list as well. This ensure that I get stuff that I want and I get to use supplies that I already have.

I was able to make things for two swappers this past time. To one, I am sending a stenciled skill shirt for her daughter and some crochet hookes. The other, in Germany, got scrapbook paper and soap.

I *should* be receiving a handmade recipe book and hair accessories from one. And a birds nest necklace from the other. For those, I will post photos.

The past two weeks I have been mostly making soap and stenciling t-shirts. I may be in a little bit of a rut as far as picking other projects goes. I am not really in the mood to sew anything. The lovely and light fabrics that I picked up a few years or months ago are not suited to winter skirt making and I hope, as I do at the beginning of every winter, that when the time comes for me to make those skirts, I will be at least 4 sizes smaller. So, why make them now? Welcome to my brain.

I’m bored with jewelry making. I can only make so many beaded necklace strands or put a bead on an earring finding. Boring. Challenge, please.

Knitting is fun. It’s winter. And that’s the best time to knit. Most of my craft supplies are yarn and fiber related. I really, really, really need to finish that scarf. Or rejuvenate with a fresh project.

I’m open to suggestions. Give me some ideas!!

In crafting related news, this Sunday, December 6th, is my favorite day of the year: The Bazaar Bizarre. This event has grown substantially over the past few years as the “craft movement” has become more mainsteam. I’m excited to pick up some handspun yarn! Hopefully the couple that was selling felt mustaches filled with cat nip will be back. Mickey loves those.

The following weekend I will be going to CRAFTBOSTON which sounds ok. It looks like there are more artisans than crafters. I won’t be able to afford a damn thing.

And for eye candy, I would die for this bacon scarf.

 

3 Responses to “I know, I know…”

  1. Reb Says:

    I double dog dare you to MAKE that bacon scarf with that pattern. Biatch.

  2. Erin Says:

    Made me think of you and the bacon scarf:


Leave a Reply

