One Button at a Time…

Tuesday Night Craft Experiment

CRAFT NIGHT #1 November 12, 2009

Filed under: Completed Projects,Knitting,Misc — momentpunch @ 10:54 am
Tags: , ,

On Tuesday a group of very fabulous ladies, that I am lucky enough to be able to call my friends, gathered at my apartment for the first, of what I hope will be many, pot luck craft nights. (Attendees: No worries. It won’t always be pot luck).

After eating copious amounts of everything delicious, we hunkered down for some knittin’. Erin and Kerin are working on scarves, Holly is knitting a boot/sock/slipper that she hope will match the other, and Ashia started her handlebar mustache. Kaitlynn read her food magazines and Rachel cheered us on.

I forget exactly how it came up. It could’ve been the sight of a record bowl or the fact that we were listening to records, but Rachel requested a record bowl.

record-bowl-300x280

Note: Not mine.

This is a fun and really quick craft project. If you’re not careful like me, you will burn your finger prints off. My old roommate Josh taught me how to make these. He melted everything.

1. Go to Goodwill and buy a record to use (Not Prince’s Purple Rain. I’d give anything to have that on vinyl). These are usually about 99 cents. Buy a few. It can be addictive.

2. Pick out a saucepan that is the size you want for the inside of your record bowl. The record is going to melt around the pan, so make sure it is smaller. I also find it helpful to use a pan with a handle because it is easier to remove from the oven. Also, make sure the side of the record that you want to be the inside of the bowl is facing DOWN.

3. Set your oven anywhere from 200-225 degrees. Insert record on sauce pan. Patiently wait anywhere from 1-3 minutes.

4. Take pan out – wear your oven mitts – and slowly peel the record off of the pan. It will flop around and look like it is falling apart. Just hold the record together in the position that you want it for about 15-30 seconds. Records harden up VERY quickly.

If you’re not happy with the way it came out or you want it to look a little different, stick it back in the oven.

This is a great beginning craft activity and great for craft nights due to it’s low cost.

I hope that everyone that came had fun and comes to the next one – which will hopefully be sometime in early December.

Did I take pictures? Of course not. Next time, I promise. If there is anything this blog needs it’s more photos. And more craft projects. Which reminds me, I have completed some things, I just haven’t had the time to take pictures and post. I’ll be doing that later this evening.

 

One Response to “CRAFT NIGHT #1”

  1. Ashia Says:

    I liked the potluck – you might want to keep that as a habit, because feeding a houseful of people gets expensive quick.

    I like to melt my records on an inverted metal or glass bowl with another, larger, inverted bowl on top to help drag the edges down. I used to own bowls specifically for this purpose, so I didn’t have to worry about food contamination. Then I put the whole thing in a cookie sheet that isn’t used for food. This can ensure that you don’t get melted plastic on your oven grids and you don’t add off-gassing pot handles to the mix, plus it’s easy to remove without burning yourself.

    Also, keep your windows open and turn on a fan if possible, the fumes really are awful for you.


Leave a Reply

