One Button at a Time…

Tuesday Night Craft Experiment

FINISH HIM! October 31, 2009

Filed under: Knitting,Messages — momentpunch @ 1:34 pm
Tags: ,

I started knitting in the winter of 2006. My friend Ruby and I signed up for classes. Until then, my life revolved around another hobby: improv comedy. When the theatre dispanded and our groups run ended, I was bored. And that’s how it started. Awesome story.

Class was difficult and intimidating. It took place during a Stitch and Bitch so all these women had these complicated and amazing projects and we still hadn’t even mastered casting on.

Three years (!!) later and I still know mostly basic stuff. I can k1, p1, k2tog, yo, sl1, m1, ssk – add any number you like after the letter. It’s just more of the same.

My most daunting project has been the Lace Ribbon Scarf. A seemingly non threatening project in appearance, but a project, that I believe, is impossible to complete.

I started it in Spring 2008. I took it on a trip to Ft. Myers, Florida with my family. I worked on it at a stitch and bitch at Spark Craft in Cambridge. I had it with me at my parents house when I was laid up with ankle drama and I knit one row. And that was the last time I picked it up.

If I complete one project during the course of this, er, project, please let it be this scarf. I’m about to pick it up today for the first time since April.

Oh yeah, and I want to learn cables.

 

Edit: It’s now 9:23pm, I had picked it up in the early afternoon to discover that I have lost one of my knitting needles.

 

3 Responses to “FINISH HIM!”

  1. Reb Says:

    How anti-climactic!

  2. Lynn W. Says:

    1) Cables are easier than you think – I was also daunted by them, and now they’re easy-peasy.

    2) I have a ton of extra needles, what size are you looking for?

    3) At some point, I’ll learn how to double-knit.

    4) I have a sweater that has been unfinished for over three years. I just can’t bring myself to finish it.

    • danabeguerie Says:

      1. Teach me, please! I almost took a quick like one night class to learn.

      2. I found a loose size 3. Thanks though! I have a weird amount of loose needles.

      3. I can’t do that, but I can duplicate stitch which is easier than intarasia because you just go over what you’ve knitted.

      4. Heh. I have one of those too 🙂 I forget where I left off in the pattern so it will continue to sit in that bag. Forever.

      How do you feel about knitting socks?


Leave a Reply

