One Button at a Time…

Tuesday Night Craft Experiment

Highlander Cowl December 13, 2010

Filed under: Completed Projects,Knitting — momentpunch @ 10:07 am
Tags: , , ,

This winter my biggest obsession is cowls. They’re much quicker to knit than scarves, they hold their shape better, and  I don’t find myself constantly stepping on their ends and tripping over them. Oh, and they are much warmer and cozier too.

During the Red Line Yarn Crawl a few months back, I purchased some beautiful yarn on sale from Stitch House in Dorchester. It’s a Super Bulky yarn from Germany called Gedrifa Highland Alpaca. I had no idea what I was going to make when I purchased it, but I love the bulkiness of it as well as the color. Last season I had to say goodbye to my green wool toggle coat that I’d had for almost 8 years. I miss it more than I anticipated.

I began researching what I was going to make by searching for projects made by this yarn on ravelry. I came across a pattern I loved and had enough yarn for (3 skeins), but it was private. I emailed the anonymous ravelry user and she provided me with her improvised pattern. I was thrilled with how easy it was to make. Due to the dropping temperatures in the area, I needed a snuggly cowl.

Ta-da! Here it is. It took me about 5 hours over a few days to complete. The trickiest part was not having a blunt needle wide enough to accompany this yarn so all the finishing and weaving was done with my hands.

I love it!

 

Leave a comment